• Saturday 1st Oct 2016
Navratri Begins
Sharad Navratri Puja Timings

Detailed Navratri Calendar with 9 colors
check 9 Navratri Colors
Pratipada Tithi Begins = 05:41 on 1/Oct/2016
Pratipada Tithi Ends = 07:45 on 2/Oct/2016

2016 Shardiya Navratri

Navratri is a festival that lasts for nine days festival. It is dedicated to Goddess Durga. Navratri is a Sanskrit word which literally means nine nights. During these nine nights and ten days, Goddess Durga is worshipped in 9 different forms, known as Navdurga. The tenth day is celebrated as Vijayadashami when idols of Goddess Durga are immersed into the water body. On the first day, Goddess Durga is invoked into a Kalash with full Vedic rituals along with chanting of Mantras. The invocation and dwelling of Goddess Durga into the Kalash is known as Ghatasthapana or Kalashsthapana and is done at an appropriate time of the day. In West Bengal Navratri is celebrated as Durga Puja. Hindu religious books suggest 7 days Navratri, 5 days Navratri, 3 days Navratri, 2 days Navratri or even 1 day Navratri as an alternative to 9 days Navratri. Jyoti Kalash, Kumari Puja, Sandhi Puja, Navami Homa, Lalitha Vrat and Chandi Path are other famous rituals and events which are observed during 9 days Navratri.

Event Calendar

Upcoming Events

Temple videos