Nakshatras And Their Deities – Visaham, Anusham, Kettai

Visaham / Visakha – Lord Muruga

Karthikeya (Karthikeya; Murugan, Skanda and Subramaniyam) is the Hindu god of war. He is the Commander-in-Chief of the army of the devas. He is also the primary god of the Kaumaram sect of Hinduism. Murugan is worshipped primarily in areas of Tamil speaking populations, including Tamil Nadu in India, His six most important shrines in India are the Six Abodes of Murugan also known Arupadaiveedu literally meaning six war houses, temples located in Tamil Nadu.

Lord Muruga and his consorts

Anusham /Anuradha – Sri Lakshmi Narayanar

Lakshmi Narayan or Lakshmi-Narayana is a manifestation of Vishnu in the Hindu religion. It is usually referring to Vishnu, also known as Narayan, when he is with his wife, Lakshmi, in his abode, Vaikuntha. Lakshmi is depicted as standing next to a dark-skinned Vishnu, who is holding a conch, mace, lotus and the Sudarshana Chakra. Another depiction of Lakshminarayan portrays Lakshmi in the service of Narayan, who is reclining on the cosmic serpent Sesha, floating in Kshirsagar, the Ocean of Milk.

Kettai / Jyeshta – Sri Varaha Narayanar (Haya Grivar)

Varaha is the avatar of the Hindu god Vishnu in the form of a boar. Varaha is listed as third in the Dashavatara, the ten principal avatars of Vishnu. When the demon Hiranyaksha stole the earth (personified as the goddess Bhudevi) and hid her in the primordial waters, Vishnu appeared as Varaha to rescue her. Varaha slews the demon and retrieved the Earth from the ocean, lifting it on his tusks, and restored Bhudevi to her place in the universe.



Reach us to be a part of our whatsapp spiritual reminder group

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *