Know the NavaDurgas this Navarathri

People apparently relate Navarathri to nine days of Celebration. However it also relates to the NavaDurga- Nine forms of Goddess Mother Durga. Each day corresponds to one of the Durgas. Know about Flower, leaves, fruits, prasad, Ragas and Rangoli associated with NavaDurga.

Day 1 – Sailaputri

Shail means the Mountain and the Putri means the Daughter of Mountain. Well, Goddess Shailputri was the daughter of Himavan (a Mountain Range). She was the younger sister of Goddess Ganga, who has been brought to Earth by King Bhagirath. She was fascinated with the idol of Lord Shiva and worshipped it devotedly to win the love of the Lord. Click here to know more about Maa Sailaputri.

Day 2 – Brahmacharini

The second day of Navratri is the worship of goddess Brahmacharni. She is one of the nine forms of Goddess Durga and signifies piousness. Brahmacharni wears a white saree with a light orange shaded border and is seen holding a Kamandal or water pot in one hand and a rosary in the other. Click here to know more about Maa Brahmacharini


Day 3 – Chandraghanta

The third day of Navratri is dedicated to Goddess Chandraghanta Maa. She is one of the nine incarnations of Goddess Durga. She has a half-moon on her forehead. It is in the shape of a bell and that is why she is called by the name Chandraghanta Devi. She is beautiful, blissful and peaceful. She wears a white dress and the lion is her vehicle. She has three eyes and ten hands. Click here to know more about Maa Chandraghanta

Day 4 – Kusamanda

On the fourth day of Navratri puja, the devotees worship Goddess Kushmanda, who is also known as “Adishakti”, “Adiswarup” and “Ashtabhuja Devi or Ashtabhujadhari Devi”. When Lord Vishnu was starting to create the universe goddess Kushmanda smiled and move forward thus the whole universe come into existence. There was perpetual darkness all around and no existence of anything then she created the whole universe with her divine smile. Fourth day of navratri puja is performed like another days, Click here to know more about Maa Kusamanda

Day 5 – Skandamata

Skandmata is worshipped on the fifth day of Navratri. She is the mother of Skanda Kumar (lord Kartikeya) who is the brother of lord Ganesha. Lord Kartikeya was the commander in chief, against the war of demons. Skandmata is the daughter of Himalaya and wife of the Lord Shiva. The navratri fifth day puja’s rituals are the same as it is on other days. The other names of Skandmata are Mata Gauri, Click here to know more about Maa Skandamata.

Day 6 – Katyayani

Devi Katyayani is the sixth manifestation among Navdurga and is worshiped on the sixth day. A sage named Katyayana had a wish that Goddess Durga take the birth as his daughter at his home so he performed the hard penance to please the God. Click here to know more about Maa Katyayani.

Day 7 – Kalaratri

Goddess Kalaratri is worshipped on the seventh day of Navratri pooja who is the seventh incarnation of Goddess Durga. She is the most violent goddess among the nine. She kills the Asuras and demons in the blink of an eye. She is known with the other names “Shubhankari” and “Kali Maa”. Click here to know more about Maa Kalaratri

Day 8 – Mahagauri

The eighth day of navratri is Maha Pooja during Navratri. It is called Ashtami and is dedicated to Goddess Mahagauri, the eight Avatar of nine goddess. She is the wife of lord Shiva. “Maha” means extreme or great and “Gauri” means white. She is white like the moon or snow. Click here to know more about Maa Mahagauri.

Day 9 – Siddhidatri

The ninth day is the last day. This is dedicated to Maa Siddhidatri, the ninth incarnation of goddess Durga. She offers all type of Siddhis to devotees, so she is known as Siddhidatri Maa. Other names include Goddess Lakshmi, who represents wealth, happiness and success. Click here to know more about Maa Siddhidatri.



Reach us to be a part of our whatsapp spiritual reminder group

About the author

View all articles by Shalini

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *