Learn about the Five Faces of Goddess Gayathri / Saraswati

Goddess Gayatri

Gayatri Devi is an incarnation of Goddess Saraswati Devi, the consort of Lord Brahma, the divine creator. Mata Gayathri symbolises “shakti” (strength) and “dev” (quality) of Knowledge, Purity and Virtue. According to Hinduism, Saraswati Devi is the goddess of music and arts. She is considered a divine poet and composer. This kind goddess is said to have taken the Avathar (incarnation) of Goddess Gayatri Devi with Lord Brahma’s blessings, and had bestowed the four sacred Vedas to this world.


Appearance of Goddess Gayatri

Goddess Gayatri graces as a Panchamukhi (five faced) and appears seated on a lotus. These five faces of the Goddess signify the Pancha pranas (senses) namely prana, apana, vyana, udana and samana. They also denote the Pancha Boothas (five elements) of the universe namely earth, water, air, fire and sky. The Devi has ten hands and is also called the Dashabhuji (one with ten hands)

Appearance of Goddess Gayatri

Five Faces Of Gayatri

Pearl Colour: Among the five faces of Goddess Gayathri Devi, the first one appears to be in Pearl colour, displaying a lustre of Pearls which signifies the quality Brilliance.

Coral Colour: (ie. bright red) (one of the nine gems). The second face develops the principle of nitchala Tattwa in the aspirants’ mind (still mind).

Gold Colour: The gold colour looks bright in both colour and quality. A mere glance at this coloured face of the goddess is said to instil confidence and increases the charm of the worshipper.

Blue colour representing the Sky: This face bestows the worshipper with immense wealth and blessings from Lord Narayana.

White face: This face typically signifies Purity. It is known to purify the mind and soul of the worshipper, thereby bestowing the divine grace of Goddess Saraswati on the person.


The significance behind these five faces

A devotee who is blessed with the divine darshan of Gayathri Devi with these five faces is believed to get relieved from five grave sins committed by him/her in this life namely

(i) Brahmahatti (ii) Suraabaanam (iii) Stealing public properties/funds (iv) Misbehaviour with wives of gurus (spiritual teachers) and

(v) friendship with bad people (bad company).

This holy ‘darshan’ of Goddess Gayathri not only absolves the above sins but also bestows the worshipper with five divine graces of Lord Shiva (Shiva tattwam) such as

(1) Satyojaatam

(2) Vaamadevam

(3) Aghoram

(4) Tatpurusham

(5) Easaanam


The significance of TEN eyes

Goddess Gayatri Devi has ten eyes of which eight directly looks facing the 8 different directions, while the remaining two looks at the sky and earth respectively. These ten eyes enable the Goddess to identify and kill bad people (DUSHTANIGRAHA) and to protect the good. (Sishtaparipaalana).

Goddess Gayathri’s grace also falls on the FOUR major directions namely North, East, West and South. A separate mantra is dedicated to every direction where the Goddess’s grace fall.

Tat Savitur Varenyam Namaha – West

Tat Poorvajaaya Namaha – East

Tat Praathaha Aadityaya Namaha – South

Tat Praathaha Aadityaya Prathishtayai Namaha – North

the first five hands signify five types of SUKHAS (comforts) obtainable from this earth and the other five hands signify five types of divine BLISS obtainable from the Divine and spiritual lokas.



Reach us to be a part of our whatsapp spiritual reminder group

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *